Baby Raccoon

Sharing a beautiful poem~

mapache3

Little Sir
Mama raccoon didn’t come home.
She left the wee one all alone.

Mom faced perils night and day.
This sad night one came her way.

Careless driver, dark of night,
A stolen life while in flight.
Racing on to who knows where,
hit the mom without a care.

Little one had lost his mother
fallen victim like the other.
All alone, a baby raccoon,
tiny face lit by the moon.

***

At my door a lady stood
asking me if I would
help the baby she had found
lying helpless on the ground.

Pleading so with his soft voice,
with a peek I had no choice.
Took one look and what I saw
two frightened eyes and a velvet paw.

Now my heart again would seize
a life to save and fill with ease.
Little boy I’ll stroke your ears.
With me you will have no fears.

Come sweet baby, little sir,
let me smell your precious fur.
Raccoon spirit full of charm,
rest your head upon my arm.

***

I want you my friend to see
what this babe has done to me.
Forego family time and sleep,
all for his sweet heart to keep.

by Linda
Wildlife Rehabilitator
(http://forestbabiesrehabcenter.org/)

One thought on “Baby Raccoon

  1. An awesome poem, and a very heartfelt act…that is what gods love within us produces…the beauty of sharing, and caring! Thanks Sands you have made my day. And I hope and pray he lives a very happy and vibrant life!

Leave a Reply

