Hope is always within reach

Dear friends, this is an excerpt from my friend, Author Cheryl Zelenka’s new book called Facing Storms: Devotions for thoughts and meditation. 

image

In his song STAND, Rich Mullins wrote, “There is more that rises in the morning than the sun.” He knew that with each new day there is the gift of a new beginning, one brimming with promise.

Anticipated desires, which we expect to occur, are called hopes. God hears all of our prayers and petitions. Therefore, our hopes are certainly obtainable so long as they are aligned with His perfect will. Through the refining process, God transforms our selfish desires into His perfect ones. The desires, dreams, and hopes planted in our hearts will mature and grow with time, eventually bearing the fruit that serves His glorious purpose. There is great joy to be had while holding hope in your heart. Sometimes this hope is a secret matter between you and the Lord, shared with no other.

How precious these special thoughts and intimate conversational moments! To meditate on a desire not yet fulfilled, with glorious anticipation, is a blessing. Waiting on the fulfillment of this hope is an experience few learn to savor. Don’t let doubt or impatience rob you of this opportunity to draw near God in a new and intimate way.

For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what they already have? But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.” Romans 8:24-25 (NIV)

God’s gifts are always more wonderful than we can imagine. His blessings are beyond our imagination or comprehension. Why not ask for those things that would please your heavenly Father? Wait for His will and desires to be revealed. Patiently hold on to your hope but trust Him to transform and purify every one of your desires. Thus, as you delight yourself in the Lord the desires of your heart will be granted… for His hopes will have become your own.

2 thoughts on “Hope is always within reach

  1. A wonderful message on hope…you write so very well Sands thanks for sharing! Your post reminded me of this poem…have a wonderful evening!

    My Voice

    My voice is all I have
    Its beginnings come from you
    And within my soul they
    Ride hope filled dreams
    From a spirit filled with
    Your love…

    Sometimes I wonder when
    I speak am I helpful…are
    My words true to those
    Who hear them

    I wonder how it touches
    The spirit and heart of
    Another…does it lift them…
    Does it help to make their
    Day better and what
    Pictures they paint of me
    In their minds eye…

    I wonder if it would be
    Lost forever after I
    Return to you…or will
    Others whom it has touched,
    Will they pass it on to be
    Read time and time again…

    For most will only have
    My voice as heard through
    My words to see and
    Understand the real me…
    That I love all of them
    Who were created in this
    World by your hand..

    Wendell A. Brown

Leave a Reply

